Scroll to content
School Logo

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

Aim high achieve together

Interactive Bar

Quick Links


Aim high achieve together


Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the schools governors, and the work that we do.

Ann Yandell

Chair of Governors at St. Joseph's


The role of the governing board is a strategic one and our legal duties are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • to be a source of challenge and support to the Academy Principal (a critical friend).


Governors come from a range of backgrounds and experience and represent the views of the community. They are appointed for 4 years. Formal meetings are held at least 4 times a year. Governors also make monitoring visits to the school, write notes on their visit, review documents, attend school events, meet with school leaders and members of staff and attend regular training. At the meetings discussion focuses on the Academy Principal report, Governor Notes of Visit, data on learning progress gathered from within school and from outside sources.


The Academy Committee at St Josephs is made up of the following governors:

Name            Type of GovernorRole                                 
Mrs. Ann YandellFoundation/ChairResponsible for Safeguarding, EYS, Literacy
Mr. Brett Kirk

Acting Academy Principal

Father Phillip SeedFoundation Governor (Vice Chair)Responsible for RE and wellbeing
Mr. Nick WilsonFoundation GovernorResponsible for Health and Safety
Mrs. Sally PosnettParent GovernorResponsible for SEN
Lauren RibyClerk to the Academy Committee 


Within the overall structure of the Kent Catholic Schools Partnership, St.  Josephs forms a group with St Gregorys School in Margate and St Marys School in Whitstable. The schools work together within an overarching Executive structure with an Executive Principal and an Executive Governing Body which is responsible for the budget monitoring and financial probity of the three schools.

Debiie O'SheaAcademy chair, St. Gregory's and chair of the Executive Governing Body. 
Vicki O'HalloranExecutive Principal 
Jack DevineBusiness Manager for the three schools within the overall structure of the Kent Catholic Schools' Partnership. St. Joseph's forms a group with St. Gregory's in Margate and St. Mary's in Whitstable. 


The Executive Governing Body is made up of:

Debbie O’Shea - Academy Chair, St Gregorys and Chair of the Executive Governing Body

Vicki O’Halloran  -  Executive Principal

Nicola Lewis - Burser for the three schools Within the overall structure of the Kent Catholic Schools Partnership, St Josephs forms a group with St Gregorys School in Margate and St Marys School in Whitstable. Each school has an Academy Committee made up of volunteer governors who work together to support the school.

Chrys Giles - Academy Chair, St Marys

Ann Yandell - Academy Chair, St Josephs

Father Philip Seed - Foundation Governor

Mathew Hicks - Parent Governor

Rhona Williams, Parent Governor

Jill Allen, Parent Governor

Lauren Riby - Clerk to the Executive Governing Body


Term of office

Governor term of office is four years, and may be re-appointed at the end of this period subject to remaining eligible to be a particular type of member. Foundation Governors are appointed by the Archbishop of Southwark.


Our Mission and Values

“Through the love of Jesus we can navigate life’s journey”“Living out our 5 school values: Belonging, Caring, Enjoying, Respect, Teamwork”






We are members of many families and our school has strong links with the parish and the local community.

We care for God’s world and we appreciate its beauty and each other.

Create life long memories in a nurturing safe environment.

We are open to the opinions of others and celebrate our differences.

Working together with parents and agencies to achieve our best.

Read Our Mission and Values

Trust Information

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School is an academy, and part of the Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership. The Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership is an exempt charity and a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales under company registration number 08176019 at registered address: Barham Court, Teston, Maidstone, Kent, ME18 5BZ. St Joseph's Catholic Primary School is a business name of Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership.